Skip to content
Back to top


December 1, 2022

The ABA Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice will honor Native American Rights Fund (NARF) Executive Director John E. Echohawk with the Thurgood Marshall Award during the 2023 ABA Annual Meeting in Denver, CO. John E. Echohawk (Pawnee) was recently chosen by the CRSJ Selection Committee, chaired by Past Section Chair, C. Elisia Frazier. Mr. Echohawk has been recognized as one of the 100 most influential lawyers in America by the National Law Journal and has received numerous service awards and other recognition for his leadership in the Indian law field. See Section Chair Juan Thomas' remarks on the selection here.

Mr. Echohawk has long been a hero of the ABA Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice. Indeed, in 2006, the Section published a piece naming him as our Human Rights Hero in our Human Rights Magazine. He will receive the award on Saturday, August 5, 2023, during a dinner celebration at the 2023 ABA Annual Meeting.

Established by the Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice in 1992, the annual ABA Thurgood Marshall Award honors U.S. Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall, who epitomized individual commitment, in word and action, to the cause of civil rights in this country. The award recognizes similar long-term contributions by other members of the legal profession to the advancement of civil rights, civil liberties, and human rights in the United States.